I've received a few of these in the last couple of months. My take on them is that they are just trying to sucker us in to buying our domain(s) in these other extensions.
My 2 cents.....
Okay, you can ignore the email, but beware they will take further action like contact your hosting provider or domain registrar...
Mmmmmmm, ya know I'm going to be polite here and just say I seriously doubt it, coltter...
By the way, can anyone point me in the direction of a "how to" that explains how I can "register an Internet TrademarK"? I'm thinking I better start doing this with all my domains...
Last edit to this post... I just had to do a quick Google search to come up with this info. Internet Trademark Domain name scams | Firetrust.
Started in 2008 and is up to page 20 with a post dated today, 7-17-10.....
Wait .. take WHAT action can they take?.
.. they are ASKING ME for permission.
.. according to this letter, they are under the assumption that I am the TM holder, not the other way around.
Please clarify coltter.
.. and thanks for your reply Post added at 06:29 PM Previous post was at 06:26 PM Nice job on that find TestCase...
.. so I guess it is so .. they are just like everyone else with a creative angle, yes?.
Thanks again..
It is a scam. They are trying to get you to buy a bunch of crappy extensions.
Brad..
Coltter, just read here about "scams"...read it 100 times...and after that you are maybe eligible to post an answer lol.
Cheers.
Liquid..
The second you get something from an entity in China claiming to care about international Trademarks you can safely file it in the "yeah, right" folder imho.
BTW: The above sentence is not an entirely defensible legal position..
Thanks everybody.
Like I said, I pretty much thought it was a scam all along, but thought, better find out for sure.
Thanks again..
I've gotten those as well, though none for over a year. Just in case you still has doubts, it is a scam of some sort. File it with the letters from Albert Worthington III, Esq. of London offering you 20% of 100 million if you just contact him at his personal email at aworthington@163.cn..

